Yesterday I Was Called A Hero

June 29, 2008 at 8:33 am 7 comments

Am I? Absolutely not.

What did I do? Well, let me tell you.

First off, I have to start the story by telling you  that I’m a Christian. I’m a card carrying, bible thumping Jesus Freak. If you know nothing else about me, that’s just fine.

So, the story.

At the beginning of spring, my son and my daughter both signed up for baseball. They do it every year and they love it. It’s their favourite part of summer, I think. Practice for both of them was Sunday afternoons, my daughter at 1 pm, my son at 4 pm. It made for a tight schedule with church, but we managed.

About 3 weeks ago my daughter’s coach changed practice time to 10 am Sunday mornings. Not good. That’s when church starts.

So, I told him, if you change it to that time, she won’t be able to come. Why, he asked? Because she has church. She’s not missing church for ball practice. No way, no how will I let that happen. She will not miss church all summer long. That’s not acceptable to me.

So, we comprimised. He moved it to 9 am, and she only stays for the first hour. He sends her back here so she’s home in time to make it to church. The rest of the kids stay and practice, last week for 3 hours!

So, why was I called a hero? Because I stood up to sports. It’s a huge thing in our area (I don’t know about other places). Around here, every sports team, hockey, soccar, baseball, whatever, seems to want to have practice on Sunday mornings. And a lot of parents go with it, are too scared that their child will be kicked off the team if they say anything.

I’m not a hero by any means. But, i did follow my own advice.

If it’s your thing, make it your thing. What does that mean? If you’re a Christian, be a Christian. If you’re a vegan, be a vegan. If you’re a Muslim, be a Muslim. Never EVER be ashamed of yourself, your beliefs, your lifestyle. If it’s who you are then get up on the rooftops and shout it to the world! Wear your beliefs so everyone can see them. Be the person you are and don’t ever, ever let anyone tell you that you are wrong. It’s who you are and that is wonderful.

Not everyone will agree with you. That’s too bad for them. Stand strong, be proud and be the best person you can be.

If it’s your thing, make it your thing.

I’m a Christian. A proud Christian and I’m not afraid to say it loudly and often. I love Jesus with all my heart.

What are you? What’s your “thing”?

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

To Be A Kid Again… Continuing On Yesterday’s Thought…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lauraslefthook  |  June 29, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I am so glad you did not bow down to sports. I am hesitant to have my daughters involved in sport teams because of the feeling I have that sports must come before everything. I would love them to have the enjoyment of a sports team, but it involves way too many days a week and too much interference with family as well as church around here. Perhaps the pendulum will swing back the other way by the time they are old enough and it will get back to something a little less intense.

  • 2. Art by MAR  |  June 29, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Good for you! I live in a very sports oriented city and it is tough because I am not a sports person. I think sports are good for kids as long as it is kept in perspective.

  • 3. blossomingtree  |  June 29, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Good for you! Our duties as parents are to do what we think is right for our children and what you did was to show your children how to stand up for what they believe in AND to not regret it.

  • 4. MaryJane Hunter  |  June 29, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    I TOTALLY agree with you. BE who you ARE!

    With that said, being tolerent of others and who THEY are, is just as important in Christianity.
    Saying “That’s too bad for them” smacks a bit of “I’m right and you’re wrong”.
    I think its WONDERFUL that you stood up for your beliefs! More people should if it cuts into your life in a negative way. Just let others do the same with equal tolerence!
    xo
    mary jane

  • 5. Heather  |  June 29, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I totally agree with you on Be Who You Are and Proud of It
    I have spent my whole life with certain beliefs that I live by and I feel really good about it and now being able to tell my children that I didn’t give in to pressure and stood strong is wonderful.

  • 6. t.allen-mercado  |  June 29, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    good for you. one of my committee members (close group of female friends) always says, “if you stand for nothing, you fall for everything”.

  • 7. Pam  |  June 30, 2008 at 7:02 am

    A wonderful post! I’m a firm believer in standing up for the things that are important to you. If more people did what you did, this society might have a shot:)
    I believe in decency, honesty and hard work. I stand up for them, I live by them and I teach them to my son.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Featured Service

Photobucket
June 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


